Skip to content. Skip to navigation

ICTP Portal

You are here: Home words Search all news prizes news 2005 2005 Ramanujan Prize
Personal tools
Document Actions

2005 Ramanujan Prize

ICTP awards inaugural Ramanujan Prize to Brazilian mathematician

Marcelo Viana, Instituto de MatemÃ¡tica Pura e Aplicada (IMPA), Brazil, has been awarded the first-ever Srinivasa Ramanujan Prize. Funded by the Niels Henrik Abel Memorial Fund with the participation of the International Mathematical Union, the Prize is administered by ICTP. The Prize is designed to honour researchers under 45 years of age who have conducted outstanding research in developing countries. Viana is an internationally renowned mathematician in the field of dynamical systems. He has also played a key role in the development of mathematics at IMPA and, more generally, in Brazil. Viana has lectured at ICTP schools and workshops on dynamical systems since 1988, and was course director in 2001 and 2004. The award ceremony will take place at a later date.


Powered by Plone This site conforms to the following standards: