Skip to content. Skip to navigation

ICTP Portal

You are here: Home words Search all news 2010 Abel Prize 2010
Personal tools
Document Actions

Abel Prize 2010

Abel Prize to John T. Tate for path-breaking work

Abel Prize 2010

Abel Prize 2010 recipient John Tate.

The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters has awarded the Abel
Prize for 2010 to John Torrence Tate, University of Texas at Austin, for his vast and lasting impact on the theory of numbers. John Tate will receive the Abel Prize from His Majesty King Harald at an award ceremony in Oslo, Norway, May 25.

The Abel Prize recognizes contributions of extraordinary depth and influence to the mathematical sciences and has been awarded annually since 2003. It carries a cash award of NOK 6,000,000 (close to € 730,000 or US$ 1 mill.)

For more information consult the Abel Prize website.


Powered by Plone This site conforms to the following standards: