Skip to content. Skip to navigation

ICTP Portal

You are here: Home words Search all news 2009 String theorist, mathematician honoured
Personal tools
Document Actions

String theorist, mathematician honoured

National awards for ICTP Scientific Council member, and former ICTP mathematician

String theorist, mathematician honoured

ICTP Scientific Council member Ashoke Sen (left) and former ICTP mathematician Aderemi Kuku.

Ashoke Sen, a member of ICTP's Scientific Council since 2004, was among five Indian scientists to be awarded that country's Infosys Prize 2009. Sen was recognised for his fundamental contributions to mathematical physics, particularly String Theory. He is with the Harish Chandra Research Institute in Allahabad, and received the ICTP Prize in 1989.

Dr. Aderemi Kuku, a member of ICTP's Mathematics section from 1995 until 2003, has been awarded the Nigerian National Order of Merit for his achievement in mathematics. Dr. Kuku is internationally known for his contributions to abstract algebra and, in particular, algebraic K-theory. Dr. Kuku is the William W. S. Claytor Professor of Mathematics at Grambling State University, Louisiana, USA.


Powered by Plone This site conforms to the following standards: