Skip to content. Skip to navigation

ICTP Portal

You are here: Home words Search all news 2009 ICTP and EBASI
Personal tools
Document Actions


Memorandum of Understanding Signed


The Edward Bouchet Abdus Salam Institute (EBASI) and the Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP) have signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) formalising joint synergistic cooperation in scientific and technical collaborations among physical scientists, mathematicians, engineers, and technologists from America and Europe and their counterparts from developing countries, especially Africa. The collaborative venture established by this document provides for comprehensive and multi-disciplinary programs designed to:

- enhance the impact of science and technology on the sustainable development of the countries on the African continent;
- increase the technical manpower pool working in Africa today by facilitating the training and education of African graduate students; and
- support the further sustainable development of both academic and public institutions that focus on physical science and high-technology.

The MoU was signed on 11 February by ICTP Director K.R. Sreenivasan and Professor Milton D. Slaughter, founding EBASI council member and chairman.


Powered by Plone This site conforms to the following standards: