Skip to content. Skip to navigation

ICTP Portal

You are here: Home words Search all news 2009 2009 Nobel Prize in Physics
Personal tools
Document Actions

2009 Nobel Prize in Physics

Prize shared by pioneers in fiber optics, imaging circuits

The 2009 Nobel Prize in Physics has been awarded to Charles Kao, of the Standard Telecommunications Laboratories, Harlow, UK, and Chinese University of Hong Kong "for groundbreaking achievements concerning the transmission of light in fibers for optical communication".

The other half of this year's award goes jointly to Willard S. Boyle and George E. Smith of Bell Laboratories, Murray Hill, NJ, USA, "for the invention of an imaging semiconductor circuit – the CCD sensor".

For more details about the winners, visit the Nobel Prize website.


Powered by Plone This site conforms to the following standards: