Skip to content. Skip to navigation

ICTP Portal

You are here: Home words Search all news 2007 Nobel Prizes 2007 and ICTP
Personal tools
Document Actions

Nobel Prizes 2007 and ICTP

Physics, Chemistry, but above all Peace

This year, ICTP has connections with the Nobel Laureates for Physics, Chemistry, and Peace in particular.
The Peace Prize has been split equally between the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) and Al Gore, Jr. “for their efforts to build up and disseminate greater knowledge about man-made climate change, and to lay the foundations for the measures that are needed to counteract such change". ICTP scientist Filippo Giorgi, head of the Earth System Physics (ESP) section, is one of the vice-chairs of the IPCC Working Group I. Jagadish Shukla, a long-time scientific consultant to ESP, is one of the Lead Authors of Chapter 8 the IPCC Working Group I Report.
The Prize in Physics has been awarded to:
Albert Fert
Université Paris-Sud; Unité Mixte de Physique CNRS/THALES, Orsay, France
Peter Grünberg
Forschungszentrum Jülich, Germany
 “for the discovery of Giant Magnetoresistance".
Fert was a speaker in the ICTP Conference on the Science and Technology of Spin Transport in Nanostructures in August 2002.
The Prize in Chemistry has been awarded to Gerhard Ertl, Fritz-Haber-Institut der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, Berlin, Germany, “for his studies of chemical processes on solid surfaces". Ertl took part in the Adriatico Conference on “The Applications of Lasers in Surface Science", in August 1988.


Powered by Plone This site conforms to the following standards: