Skip to content. Skip to navigation

ICTP Portal

You are here: Home words Search all news 2006 Trieste Science Prize 2006
Personal tools
Document Actions

Trieste Science Prize 2006

Jacob Palis, former chairman of the ICTP Scientific Council, is one of four eminent scientists from the developing world to win the Trieste Science Prize 2006. Palis, director emeritus of the Institute of Pure and Applied Mathematics in Rio de Janeiro, and a frequent visitor to the Centre, will share the Trieste Science Prize in mathematics with C.S. Seshadri, founding director, Chennai Mathematical Institute in India. The Trieste Science Prize winners in the medical sciences are Chen Ding-Shinn, dean of the National Taiwan University College of Medicine, and Rao Zihe, professor of Tsinghua University, China. The Trieste Science Prize, a joint venture of the Academy of Sciences for the Developing World (TWAS) and IllycaffÃ¨, is designed to bring honour and recognition to the developing world’s most eminent scientists. A US$100,000 cash award will be divided among the four winners. For additional information, see


Powered by Plone This site conforms to the following standards: