Skip to content. Skip to navigation

ICTP Portal

You are here: Home words Search all news 2005 Wolf Prizes to ICTP Scientists
Personal tools
Document Actions

Wolf Prizes to ICTP Scientists

Two scientists who have participated in ICTP activities are the winners of the prestigious Wolf Prize, which carries a US$100,000 cash award. Daniel Kleppner, professor of physics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), received the 2005 Wolf Prize in physics. Kleppner lectured at the ICTP colleges on lasers in 1983 and 1985. Gregory Margulis, professor of mathematics at Yale University, and Sergei Novikov, distinguished university professor at the University of Maryland’s Institute for Physical Science and Technology and Department of Mathematics, shared the 2005 Wolf Prize in mathematics. Margulis spoke at the ICTP workshop on dynamical systems in 2001. The ceremony took place at a special meeting of the Israeli Knesset on 22 May. Israeli President Moshe Katsav presided at the ceremony.


Powered by Plone This site conforms to the following standards: