Skip to content. Skip to navigation

ICTP Portal

You are here: Home words Search all news 2005 First Trieste Science Prize Winner
Personal tools
Document Actions

First Trieste Science Prize Winner

Former ICTP Scientific Council Member, V. Ramakrishnan, has won the first-ever Trieste Science Prize in physics and astrophysics.

Ramakrishnan, Distinguished Associate in the Centre for Condensed Matter Theory at the Indian Institute of Science in Bangalore, and DAE Homi Bhabha professor of physics at Banaras Hindu University in Varanasi, India, is being honoured for his fundamental theoretical contributions to our understanding of how liquids turn into solids. His insights into the ‘transformational’ behaviour of particles have had a profound impact on a wide range of subjects in condensed matter physics and materials science.

The Trieste Science Prize, administered by the Academy of Sciences for the Developing World (TWAS) and funded by illycaffÃ¨ s.p.a., is designed to give international recognition and visibility to outstanding scientific achievements made by scientists living and working in the developing world. The award includes a US$50,000 cash prize.
For additional information, see


Powered by Plone This site conforms to the following standards: