Skip to content. Skip to navigation

ICTP Portal

You are here: Home words Search all news 2005 Ramanujan Prize Awarding Ceremony
Personal tools
Document Actions

Ramanujan Prize Awarding Ceremony

Marcelo A. Viana, Instituto de MatemÃ¡tica Pura e Aplicada (IMPA) in Brazil, will be awarded the first Ramanujan Prize on 15 December. The ceremony will take place at 11 a.m. in the Main Lecture Hall. Funded by the Neils Henrik Abel Memorial Fund in Norway, in collaboration with the International Mathematical Union (IMU), the prize is administered by ICTP.



Brazilian Mathematician Marcelo Viana Wins First Ramanujan Prize

Marcelo Viana, a professor at the Institute of Pure and Applied Mathematics in Brazil and one of Latin America’s most eminent mathematicians, has won the first-ever Ramanujan Prize. The ceremony honouring Viana will take place at ICTP’s Main Building on 15 December at 11 am.

The Ramanujan Prize, named for the world-renowned Indian scientist Srinivasa Ramanujan who died in 1920 at the age of 33, is designed to recognize the achievements of scientists less than 45 years old who have lived and worked in the developing world. The prize, which carries a US$10,000 cash award, is sponsored by the Niels Henrik Abel Memorial Fund in Norway, the same organization that sponsors the Abel Prize for Mathematics, an internationally renowned award for lifetime achievement. In its three brief years of existence, the Abel Prize, named after the Norwegian-born Niels Henrik Abel, a world-renowned 19th century mathematician, has emerged as one of the world’s most prestigious prizes in mathematics.

“While advances in mathematics are crucial for social and economic development,” says ICTP director K.R. Sreenivasan, “it is also a field of study that carries intrinsic value and inspiration comparable to the value and inspiration that we associate with music and art.”

“Both Ramanujan and Abel spoke a universal language based on logic and rationality,” Sreenivasan notes. “Now thanks to the Niels Abel Memorial Fund, the world of mathematics will be brought to the attention of a broader public. At the same time, the awarding of the Ramanujan Prize to Marcelo Viana represents the collective action of Italy, Norway, India and Brazil, which in itself is a reflection of the universality of science and is testimony to ICTP’s larger efforts to work with others in promoting scientific research.”

“The Centre,” says Sreenivasan, “is confident that the Ramanujan Prize will serve as a vital instrument for honouring young scientific talent throughout the developing world. We look forward to working with the Niels Henrik Abel Memorial Fund in the years ahead to advance our shared goals.”

Editors note: For additional information about the Niels Henrik Abel Memorial Fund, see For additional information about ICTP, see



VerrÃ  assegnato per la prima volta giovedÃ¬ 15 dicembre


Il matematico brasiliano Marcelo Viana, dell’Istituto di matematica pura e applicata di Rio de Janeiro, Ã¨ il vincitore della prima edizione del premio Ramanujan istituito dal Centro internazionale di fisica teorica (ICTP) di Trieste. Lo studioso riceverÃ  il riconoscimento (assieme a un assegno di 10 mila dollari) nel corso di una cerimonia che si svolgerÃ  giovedÃ¬ 15 dicembre, a partire dalle ore 11, nell’aula magna del Centro. Viana Ã¨ oggi uno dei piÃ¹ importanti matematici dell’America Latina, noto soprattutto per i suoi lavori nel campo dei sistemi dinamici.

Il premio â€“ destinato a un matematico proveniente dai paesi in via di sviluppo, di etÃ  inferiore ai 45 anni, che abbia dato contributi di rilievo alla ricerca â€“ viene assegnato dall’ICTP in collaborazione con l’Unione matematica internazionale ed Ã¨ intitolato alla memoria di Srinivasa Ramanujan, il celebre e bizzarro genio matematico indiano morto nel 1920 a soli 33 anni. Il riconoscimento Ã¨ sostenuto finanziariamente dal Niels Henrik Abel Memorial Fund, la stessa istituzione norvegese che da due anni assegna il premio Abel per la matematica, giÃ  assimilato al premio Nobel quanto a prestigio e valore monetario e che ricorda un altro grande matematico scomparso lui pure giovanissimo, considerato uno dei fondatori dell’algebra moderna.

“Al di lÃ  della sua importanza quale strumento alla base dello sviluppo sociale ed economico â€“ osserva il direttore del Centro di fisica teorica di Trieste, l’indiano Katepalli R. Sreenivasan â€“ noi crediamo che la matematica abbia anche un valore creativo intrinseco. Come dimostrano del resto le figure di Ramanujan e di Abel, i due matematici accomunati da questo nuovo riconoscimento assegnato dall’ICTP. Al tempo stesso, il fatto che il premio metta idealmente insieme Italia, Norvegia, India e Brasile simboleggia quella unitÃ  di intenti tra i piÃ¹ diversi paesi che viene promossa in campo scientifico dal nostro Centro. Ci auguriamo che, anno dopo anno, il premio Ramanujan possa davvero aiutarci a scoprire e ad aiutare nuovi talenti matematici nel Sud del mondo".


Powered by Plone This site conforms to the following standards: