Skip to content. Skip to navigation

ICTP Portal

You are here: Home words Search all news 2004 Dirac Medallists Win Nobel Prize
Personal tools
Document Actions

Dirac Medallists Win Nobel Prize

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has announced that the Nobel Prize in Physics 2004 has been awarded to:

David J. Gross
Kavli Institute for Theoretical Physics, University of California, Santa Barbara, CA, USA

H. David Politzer
California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, CA, USA

Frank Wilczek
Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), Cambridge, MA, USA

“for the discovery of asymptotic freedom in the theory of the strong interaction".

David Gross and Frank Wilczek won the Dirac Medal of the ICTP in 1988 and 1994, respectively.
Gross has been conference lecturer at several High Energy Physics research and training activities from 1989-2001.

For further information, please see


Powered by Plone This site conforms to the following standards: