Skip to content. Skip to navigation

ICTP Portal

You are here: Home words Search all news 2004 SCIENTIFIC COUNCIL MEETS
Personal tools
Document Actions


The ICTP Scientific Council will meet on 6-7 May. This will mark the first Council meeting presided over by Jacob Palis, professor and former director of Instituto de Matematica Pura e Aplicada, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Palis succeeds Praveen Chaudhari, who stepped down last year after serving as Council chairperson from 1996 to 2003. The 13-member Council includes F.K.A. Allotey (Ghana), Akito Arima (Japan), Kenneth Arrow (USA), Riccardo Barbieri (Italy), Jia'er Chen (China), Claude Cohen-Tannoudji (France), Paul J. Crutzen (Germany), James Langer (USA), Vladimir Lebedev (Russia), S. George H. Philander (USA), Ashoke Sen (India) and Jean-Christophe Yoccoz (France). For details of their institutional affiliations, see

Powered by Plone This site conforms to the following standards: