Skip to content. Skip to navigation

ICTP Portal

You are here: Home words Search all news 2004 LEADING SCIENTISTS, LEADING PRIZES
Personal tools
Document Actions


George Ellis, a leading theoretical cosmologist who is a professor of applied mathematics at the University of Cape Town, South Africa, has been awarded the 2004 Templeton Prize for his contributions to "the dialogue at the boundary of theology and science." Ellis served as professor of cosmology at SISSA from 1987 to 1994 (see "Profile," News from ICTP, Winter 2003-2004). With a cash award of US$1.4 million, the Templeton Prize is the world's largest annual monetary prize given to an individual. Another important scientist closely linked to ICTP's activities, Fields Medallist Sir Michael Atiyah, University of Edinburgh, is the recipient of the Abel Prize 2004, awarded by the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters. Atiyah will share the prize with Isadore M. Singer, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), Cambridge, USA. The Abel Prize carries a cash award of about US$1 million. Atiyah, who served as president of the Royal Society in the UK, is a Founding Associate Fellow of the Third World Academy of Sciences (TWAS) and helped to launch the InterAcademy Panel on International Issues (IAP), both located on the ICTP campus (see "Profile," News from ICTP, Summer 2003).

Powered by Plone This site conforms to the following standards: