Skip to content. Skip to navigation

ICTP Portal

You are here: Home words Search all news 2002 MORE PRIZES
Personal tools
Document Actions


Sriram Ramaswamy, researcher at the Indian Institute of Science in Bangalore and course director and lecturer of ICTP condensed matter physics activities, has been awarded the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar prize in the physical sciences. The prize, instituted by the Indian Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR) in the name of its founder director general, is given annually to Indian scientists under 45 years of age. Tatyana Yanovskaya, physics professor at St. Petersburg State University, Russian Federation, and collaborator with the ICTP Structure and Non-linear Dynamics of the Earth (SAND) group since 1990, has been awarded the Beno Gutenberg Medal by the European Geophysical Society. The medal, which honours the memory of seismologist Beno Gutenberg (long-time director of the California Institute of Technology's seismology laboratory), is given to outstanding seismologists. Yanovskaya is being recognized for developing "new methods for solving the tomography problem" and for investigations "of the Earth's lithosphere structure."

Powered by Plone This site conforms to the following standards: