Skip to content. Skip to navigation

ICTP Portal

You are here: Home words Search all news 2001 KALINGA PRIZE TO FANTONI
Personal tools
Document Actions


Stefano Fantoni, professor of theory of nuclear interactions at SISSA (International School for Advanced Studies) and an ICTP consultant, has been awarded UNESCO's 2001 Kalinga Prize for the popularisation of science. The award ceremony took place on 19 October at UNESCO's headquarters in Paris. Since 1993 Fantoni has been director of SISSA's Master in Science Communication programme, a biennial course that brings together some 30 students from Italy to learn about science communication. Fabio Pagan, an Italian science writer who is a staff member of the ICTP Public Information Office, is one of the course's primary organisers. The Kalinga Prize, the world's most prestigious prize in science communication, was created in 1952. The 'hall of fame' list of prize winners includes Bertrand Russell, George Gamow, Arthur C. Clarke, Sir Fred Hoyle, Konrad Lorenz, and Margaret Mead.

Powered by Plone This site conforms to the following standards: