Skip to content. Skip to navigation

ICTP Portal

You are here: Home words Search all news 1998 HONORS AND PRIZES
Personal tools
Document Actions


ICTP Director, Miguel A. Virasoro, has been elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. He is one of 147 new fellows and 22 honorary foreign members chosen in the field of physical sciences. The goal of the Academy, which was founded more than 200 years ago, is to bring together leading figures from universities, government, business and the creative arts to exchange ideas and promote knowledge for the public interest. Arun Jayannavar, who won the 1996 ICTP Prize, recently received the Shanti Swaroop Bhatnagar Award, the highest honor the Indian government gives to young scientists working mainly in India. Oxford University professor Sir Robert May, a three time lecturer at ICTP courses in mathematical ecology, is one of the recipients of the 1998 Balzan Foundation Prize. The prize, sponsored by the Italian and Swiss Balzan Foundation, is awarded annually to individuals or institutions working in "all fields of culture in the pursuit of peace." The awards ceremony took place on 23 November at the Quirinale palace in Rome.

Powered by Plone This site conforms to the following standards: