Skip to content. Skip to navigation

ICTP Portal

You are here: Home words Search all news 1997 THE NOBEL PRIZE: ICTP CONNECTIONS
Personal tools
Document Actions


Two of the three scientists sharing the 1997 Nobel Prize for Physics -- William D. Phillips, of the U.S. National Institute of Standards and Technology in Gaithersburg, Maryland, and Claude Cohen-Tannoudji, of College de France and Ecole Normale Superieure in Paris -- have visited the ICTP on several occasions. Cohen-Tannoudji attended Centre workshops in the early 1970s and Phillips was last here in 1992 for the ICTP's winter college in optics. Together with Professor Steven Chu, of Stanford University in California, Phillips and Cohen-Tannoudji received the Nobel Prize for the development of methods to trap and cool atoms with laser light.

Powered by Plone This site conforms to the following standards: