Skip to content. Skip to navigation

ICTP Portal

You are here: Home ICTP Events Celebration of the 40th Anniversary of ICTP (1964 - 2004)
Personal tools
Document Actions

Celebration of the 40th Anniversary of ICTP (1964 - 2004)


the 40th Anniversary of the ICTP

The Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP) will be 40 years old in October 2004. The continuing objective of the Centre has been to foster research in basic and applied sciences and disseminate scientific knowledge in frontier areas to all developing countries.

To celebrate the anniversary, ICTP is organising a two-day conference on the 4th and the 5th of October 2004. It is being held under the patronage of the President of the Republic of Italy, Mr. Carlo Azeglio Ciampi. The programme consists of a brief ceremonial part at the beginning of the first day, attended by prominent Italian and international leaders, and a panel discussion towards the end of that day on international cooperation and promotion of science. Aside from these two special events, it will consist of high-level scientific talks, each of about 40 minutes duration. There are about 15 speakers, among whom are several Nobel Laureates. They will speak on the present status and future directions in important areas of science.

Taking as the occasion the 40th anniversary, ICTP has initiated the process of producing a book containing a number of brief and personal two-page accounts by eminent scientists of the 20th century, of what it was about science that captured their imagination as youngsters and kept it alive, and what piece of knowledge they have added to the extraordinary lore of scientific learning. Some 100 scientists, including 25 Nobel Laureates, have contributed to the book. The book will be released during the anniversary meeting.

ICTP 40th Anniversary Conference - Legacy for the Future
4-5 October 2004




4 October 2004
Registration   08:00
Opening Session
  • K.R. Sreenivasan, Director, Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics
  • R. Antonione, Undersecretary, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Italy
  • Video Message, Ko├»chiro Matsuura, Director General, United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO)
  • W. Erdelen, Assistant Director General, UNESCO
  • Message, Mohammed ElBaradei, Director General, International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA)
  • W. Burkart, Deputy Director General, IAEA
  • R. Illy, President, Regione Friuli-Venezia Giulia
  • N.A. Al-Nasser, Chairman, Group of 77
  • A. Matteoli, Minister of Environment and Land Protection, Italy
  • Medal Awards Ceremony
  • Announcements
Coffee break (*)   10:15
Chairman: M. Parrinello    
A.H. Zewail   Ultrafast science at new limits   11:15
H. Kitano   Robustness as the fundamental organizational principle of biological systems   11:55
Lunch   12:35
Chairman: G. Toulouse    
P. Dasgupta   Rural poverty in poor countries and the local environment   14:30
S. Solomon   Timescales and processes in climate change: Some new directions   15:10
R.A. Marcus   The mass-independent oxygen isotope effect in stratospheric ozone and in the earliest solids in the solar system   15:50
Coffee break   16:30
(*) Note: During the coffee break, a press conference, with A. Matteoli and E. Camargo, President, National Council for Scientific and Technological Development, Brazil, will be held separately. Others may also be included.
Panel on International Cooperation and the Promotion of Science   17:00-18:30
Chairman: C.N.R. Rao    
U. Vattani
(Secretary General, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Italy)
Opening remarks    
C.N.R. Rao   Science, knowledge and peace: Other hunger of the majority    
A.H. Zewail   Science in the developing world    
M. Kleimola   The interaction between industry and scientific research    
G.B. Ogunmola   The heritage and the legacy of international collaboration in science: Structure, function and interactions in hemoglobins    
Jia-er Chen   Opportunities for doing science in China    
J. Palis   Inventing a better future for all countries by strengthening science and technology    
L. Stanca
(Minister of Innovation
and Technology, Italy)
Concluding remarks    
A few other guests will be invited to speak from the floor. Among them are:    
A.M. Khan, Minister of Science and Information and Communication Technology (Bangladesh)    
M. Bahran, Advisor for Science and Technology to the President of the Republic of Yemen    
R. Gonzalez, Permanent Representative of Chile to the IAEA    
Reception   18:30
5 October 2004
Chairman: V. Keilis-Borok    
L. Alvarez-Gaume   Challenges for High Energy Physics   09:00
H.K. Moffatt   Vortex interactions and the finite-time singularity problem   09:40
W. Kohn   Electronic 'nearsightedness of matter': Concept and quantitative estimates   10:20
Coffee break   11:00
Chairman: F.K.A. Allotey    
J.A. Yorke   Weather prediction from the viewpoint of nonlinear dynamics   11:30
M. Parrinello
R.A. Marcus
E. Tosatti
A.H. Zewail
  Discussion Session: Role of Dynamics in the Molecular Description of Matter   12:10
Remarks by L. Moratti
(Minister of Education, University and Scientific Research, Italy)
Lunch   13:00
Chairman: Riazuddin    
T.E. Regge   The very small and the very large structure of the universe   14:30
T.V. Ramakrishnan   Strange goings on in manganites: A tale of two states   15:10
Coffee break   15:50
Chairman: M.S. Narasimhan    
N. Cabibbo   Particles   16:20
J. Nash Jr.   An interesting equation   17:00
Closing Session   17:40-18:20
Chairman: A. Badran    
Brief Remarks by:

Jafar Towfighi Darian (Minister of Science, Research and Technology, Iran)
M. Shamsher Ali (Bangladesh)
R. Galvao (Brazil)
S. Wadia (India)
Yu Lu (China)
G.O. Ajayi (Nigeria)
P. Budinich (Italy)
F. Scoccimarro (President of Province of Trieste)
R. Dipiazza (Mayor of Trieste)
C. Moreno (Italy, General Coordinator for the Candidacy of Trieste to EXPO2008)



Powered by Plone This site conforms to the following standards: