Skip to content. Skip to navigation

ICTP Portal

You are here: Home words Search all news prizes news 2006 Ramanujan Prize Ceremony
Personal tools
Document Actions

Ramanujan Prize Ceremony

Ramdorai Sujatha to be honoured

The awards ceremony for the Ramanujan Prize will take place on Monday, 18 December, in ICTP’s Main Lecture Hall. The ceremony will begin at 11.00 a.m. with welcoming remarks by ICTP Director K.R. Sreenivasan. Ragnar Winther, Chairman of the Abel Board, will speak at 11.10. Ramdorai Sujatha, professor of mathematics at the Tata Institute of Fundamental Research in Mumbai, India, and winner of the 2006 Ramanujan Prize, will receive the prize at 11:20 and giver her acceptance speech at 11:25. The ceremony will conclude with a talk by Lennart Carleson, 2006 Abel Laureate. Sujatha is being honoured for her work on arithmetic of algebraic varieties and her contributions to non-commutative Iwasawa theory.
The Ramanujan Prize, funded by the Norwegian Academy of Sciences and Letters through the Abel Fund, in cooperation with the International Mathematical Union (IMU), is given annually to a mathematician under 45 from a developing country. It is named after the great Indian mathematician Srinivasa Ramanujan.


Powered by Plone This site conforms to the following standards: