SPIE congratulates new ICO officers

BELLINGHAM, WA, USA - 18 July 2008 - Maria Calvo will succeed Ari Friberg in a three-ye

ar term as president of the International Commission for Optics (ICO) following elections in Sydney, Australia, on 9 July. The elections were held at the triennial ICO-21 Congress, for 2008-2011 terms beginning in October.

Calvo is a professor at the Universidad Complutense de Madrid, Spain. Friberg is a professor at Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden, and Finland Distinguished Professor at Helsinki University of Technology and the University of Joensuu. Both are Fellows of SPIE.



"SPIE congratulates all the new ICO officers, and applauds ICO's efforts in enabling the diffusion of optics knowledge throughout the world," said SPIE CEO Eugene Arthurs. "SPIE is pleased to be an active partner in ICO activities such as the annual Winter College on Optics and Photonics at the Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics in Trieste, Italy, and other programs."

Friberg and René Dändliker recently collaborated as editors of *Advances in Information Optics and Photonics,* published by SPIE in June. The book is the sixth in a series of books initiated by ICO in 1989 to highlight advances and trends in the research and development of optical sciences, technologies, and applications. Dändliker is Emeritus Professor at the Institute of Microtechnology of the University of Neuchâtel and President of the Swiss Academy of Engineering Sciences, and is Friberg's predecessor as president of ICO.

Also elected to take ICO office in October were:

Secretary: Angela Maria Guzmán, Profesor Emeritus, Universidad Nacional de Colombia.

Associate Secretary: Gert von Bally, Professor, Universität Münster, Germany.

Treasurer: James Harrington, Professor, Rutgers University, USA; SPIE Fellow and Past President.

Vice Presidents:

- Yasuhiko Arakawa, Professor and Director of the Institute for Nano Quantum Information Electronics, University of Tokyo, Japan.
- Zohra Ben Lakhdar, Professor, Université de Tunis El Manar, Tunisia; President, Tunisian Optical Society.
- Hervé Lefevre, Vice President and Chief Technology Officer, iXCore S.A.S., France.
- Fernando Mendoza Santoyo, General Director, Centro de Investigaciones en Óptica, A.C., México, and Director, Mexican Side, Binational (México and USA) Consortium in Optics; SPIE Fellow and Board Member; President, Mexican Optical Society
- Duncan T. Moore, Professor and Vice Provost for Entrepreneurship, University of Rochester, and Visiting Professor, Stanford University, USA; Member of National Academy of Engineering, SPIE Fellow, Winner of Gold Medal of SPIE.
- Moshe Oron, Chief Scientist, KiloLambda Technologies, Israel, and Visiting Professor, Technion-Israel Institute of Technology.
- Tomasz Szoplik, Professor, Warsaw University, Poland; SPIE Member
 Zhou Bingkun, Professor, Tsinghua University, China; SPIE Member, President of Chinese Optical Society, Member of Chinese Academy of Sciences and Third World Academy of Sciences.

SPIE was also represented at ICO-21 by Past President Malgorzata Kujawinska of Politechnika Warszawska,



Poland, and SPIE-appointed ICO Vice President Philip Stahl of NASA Marshall Space Flight Center, USA.

A student prize for excellence was presented by SPIE to Christoph Hofmann, Universität Freiburg, Germany. SPIE also awarded prizes to Bradley Smith, University of Queensland, Australia;



Sara Ek, Macquarie University, Australia; and Felix Lawrence, CUDOS at University of Sydney, Australia.

ICO prizes were awarded to Hideyuki Sotobayashi, Aoyama Gakuin University, Japan, and Susana Celestino Marcos, Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Cientificas, Spain.

ICO-21 was hosted by the Australian Optical Society and Engineers Australia, with SPIE as Cooperating Society. The congress was chaired by Professor John Love of the Australian National University, and endorsed by the Optical Society of America. The next ICO conference is tentatively scheduled in Puebla, Mexico, in 2011, with Mendoza Santoyo serving as chair.

Picture captions, from top:

Maria Calvo will be ICO President beginning in October.

ICO President Ari Friberg officiated at ICO-21 in Sydney, Australia.

Christoph Hofmann, left, was awarded a prize for excellence by James Harrington on behalf of SPIE.

Among those attending ICO-21 were, from left, Toyohiko Yatagai (Utsunomiya University, Japan), Malgorzata Kujawinska (Politechnika Warszawska, Poland), and Fernando Mendoza Santoyo (Centro de Investigaciones en Óptica, México).
